YEAR END REVIEW: WHAT 2014 TAUGHT ME IN GENERAL?

 

Last day. Last few hours. Last entry for my 2014 post. Before I kiss goodbye to wonderful 2014, let me share with you my 8 self-awakening thoughts to ponder:

 

1. CREATE MEMORIES
I was surfing the net when I stumble to one Instagram post that make me reflect for a while: “You can always make money, You can’t always make memories“. True, di ba! Looking back to my 2014 days, I was so blessed to generate some portion of my salary used for the creation of my own happy memories-travel adventures. I had a great chance to take a quick vacation to Ilocos Sur/Norte, Singapore, some places in UAE, weekend sightseeing in South Luzon to name a few. Thanks I did it within this year. All discoveries, experience, lesson learned when I visited these places are worth of my penny and gave me a long-lasting happy story that I always cherish and shared.

2. LIFE IS TOO SHORT
The sudden demise of my father this year taught me a valuable reminder: life it too short. We don’t know when our Father (in Heaven) will call us to be with Him so in every breath we take, every single day let’s savor and appreciate the beauty of life whatever season’s we may encounter.

3. SECURITY (EMERGENCY) FUND IS A MUST
I am quite newbie in developing my financial literacy but receiving relevant advice from my father way back when I was a first-timer in Dubai is something I applied and thankful this year. I don’t even know it is called pala as “security(emergency) fund” then. Over the years I continue to save a small amount till it grows (ooppsss…naglevel-up lang po ng konting-konti) so when my family faced a financial challenge this 2014 my security fund serve its purpose. Emergency situation specially if it is between life and death do exist. Kalurkey..imagine in a couple of days my fund was next to zero but it really help us to lessen the burden due to unfortunate event because I/we know I had a financial weapon to support our needs. O, back to basic…ipon-ipon ulet pag my time.

4. HEALTH IS WEALTH
Waking up each day with healthy mind and body is something I am blessed for this year (even many years ago pala). Thank you for that gift. I consider myself rich after my (first) annual general check up done last May 2014. I went through a series of test and so happy for the result. Just a vitamins/minerals supplement (sanay naming walang iniinom, pwede bang wag na lang…takot eh..ano ba?) will be a great advantage to maintain what I’ve started according to the doctor.

5. POWER OF STOPOVER
It is likewise connected to #1 but since I tried it for the first time then it still matter to me. My layover in Singapore creates a big bang this 2014 which I conclude a good way to explore (a bit) one country in a short span of time while sticking on my budget plan.

6. MIRACLE HAPPENS EVERYDAY
Like everyone else, my whole year 2014 is filled with adversity and victory. Some goes beyond my expectation. Some left unnoticed because of my busyness. Whether I admit it or not, I was moved by one incident unfold in one of my ordinary day. I almost hit the rock bottom but those miracle help me to attract the positivity of life. It became my turning point to really acknowledge that miracle/blessings can be found to everyone, everything, everywhere and everyday.

7. KEEP CALM AMIDST STORM
In year 2014, I can’t easily forget how 2 major storm landfall on PAR- my Personal Area of Responsibility. The eye of the first storm pointed directly to our hearts which affected most areas of our life. In a metaphorical way, it was unpredicted and just arrived without any single warning. The 2nd one is a literal typhoon Glenda that had an aggravate aftermath in various provinces including ours. If there’s one important lesson I learned while we were bashed with this 2 powerful storm it is simply STAY CALM. I can’t explain how but during that time, I firmly believed “this too shall pass” anyway. Thank You for giving us a seeds of peace to lean on.

8. ACT OF KINDNESS
Looking back from January to December 2014, I’m so grateful for the random act of kindness I received, felt and shared by people surrounds me. These kind people are not limited to my family circle but I’m more amazed how stranger had eagerly shown it to me. It was even extended to my family. Hurray!!!Kindness is always in fashion.

                                         All is well at the end of the year. Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

